K. Mikalauskas
Section in Kaunas
Do & See
Visit! The remarkable Old Town which is a collection of ancient architectural monuments: the remnants of the 14th century with remains of Kaunas castle, the buildings of the Middle Ages in the Gothic and the Art Déco styles. The Kaunas Fortress is a valuable military heritage composed of a number of constructions that used to be a military complex. There are nine Forts around the city and the IXth Fort serves a museum. The macabre collection of nearly 3,000 devils at the Devils' Museum and the exhibitions showing the unique artistic styles of composer and painter M. K. Ciurlionis, as well as J. Maciunas initiator of the avant-garde Fluxus art movement.
Town Hall Square – (Rotušės Aikštė)

Town Hall Square – (Rotušės Aikštė)

Town Hall is distinguished by its slenderness and grace; it is often called The White Swan. Its tower of height of 53 meters is the highest in the old city. Present Town Hall located in the square was not the first in Kaunas. The previous one was destroyed by the fire. New Town Hall started to be built in the marketplace centre in 1542. Ceramics museum is founded in the basement. Wax melting furnaces of the 15th century were discovered near the tower in 1973. Since 2002, one of the furnaces is exposed in the paving.
Kaunas Castle

Kaunas Castle

Supposedly, the first brick castle at the confluence of the rivers the Nemunas and the Neris was built at the 14th century when the attacks of Teutonic Order began. The castle was fence-type, without towers, it had double walls from stones and bricks from the outside. This defensive castle framed a powerful barrier and the knights did not resolve to attack the castle for decades, thus they used to bypass Kaunas in war marches. However, the castle of Kaunas was strongly broken down by a flood of the river Neris. Both northern towers and more than a half of the castle walls were blown down after the water wash.
Kaunas funiculars

Kaunas funiculars

Aleksotas funicular (Amerikos lietuvių g.) This unique mean of transportation was built in 1935. Authentic traction equipment, which has functioned for more than seventy years, is still in use today, including the genuine pre-war wagon, wooden seats, and stop platforms. Even today the funicular takes people up the Aleksotas hill, from which the panorama of the Kaunas city centre and Old town is wide open. Kaunas is the only city among Baltic States, where such means of transportation is available. Aleksotas funicular operates: I-V 7.00 - 18.00 (10.00 -13.00. break), VI -9.00-16.00 (12.00-13.00 break) VII - Closed. Žaliakalnis funicular (Aušros g. 6) It is the oldest funicular in Lithuania and was constructed by the engineering office Curt Rudolph Transportanlagen from Dresden, Germany with electric equipment from "AEG" and mechanical parts from Bell Maschinenfabrik, Switzerland. The official opening was on 5th of August in 1931 with one passenger car, while the second car was only a platform ballasted with stones used to counterbalance the passenger car. Kaunas is the only city in Lithuania with this type of transport. In the residential district of Žaliakalnis these "climbing cars" serve both as a means of transport and entertainment. Žaliakalnis funicular provides an easy way of reaching the Resurrection Church from the city centre. Žaliakalnis funicular operates: I - V 7.00 - 19.00 VI, VII 9.00 - 19.00
Kaunas sharing love

Kaunas sharing love

Kaunas sharing love
Devil's Museum

Devil's Museum

The most unusual collection of devils in the world. The Devils' museum, as the name suggests is the museum where all the devils are housed. With three floors and over two thousand exhibits of devils of various sizes, shapes, colours and materials, this is a very amazing museum that boasts of having the largest collection of devils in a single place in the whole world. A large part of the collection comes from the personal collector named Antanas Žmuidzinavičius and it is present on the first floor of the Devils' museum.
Christ's Resurrection church

Christ's Resurrection church

It started to be built in 1932 under the project of the architect K. Reisonas. The church is assumed to be the symbol of the Lithuanian independence. It was built from the contributions of people. When Lithuania lost its independence, the construction was already ending, however, there was no interior and the outside was not daubed. In 1940, the church was confiscated, and machine shop of the Radio factory was founded in 1952. In 1989, the building was returned to religious community and after 70 years from the construction beginning the church was sanctified on December 24th in 2004. Visitors have the possibility to go to the observation deck on the church roof to enjoy the panoramic view of the city.
The Historical Presidential Palace

The Historical Presidential Palace

The building was constructed in 1860. In 1876, the czarist government bought it and established the residence of the governor. When Lithuanian Independence was restored and Kaunas became the provisional capital of Lithuania, this building from 1919 to 1940 was the Presidential Palace of the Republic of Lithuania. Presidents of Lithuania A. Smetona, K. Grinius and A. Stulginskis used to live and work in this palace. Today the Historical Presidential Palace of the Republic of Lithuania in Kaunas functions as a memorial-educational institution of Lithuanian modern statehood. The permanent exposition at the Palace reflects the history of the First Republic of Lithuania (1918 – 1940). Periodic temporary exhibitions commemorate outstanding historical figures and events.
Laisvės (Freedom) Avenue

Laisvės (Freedom) Avenue

It is the avenue of length of 1621 meters: two lines of trees planted in the middle of the avenue created the recreation and walking area. Already from the end of the 19th century, it became an administrational, commercial and cultural centre of the city. After the reconstruction from 1982, Laisvės Avenue became a pedestrian street. It is favourite place of the walk and meetings of Kaunas citizens.
View Kaunas on map